Pages

Crazy Fans

Sunday, March 4, 2018

Book Binge Review Round-Up #3

All of the below books were received via Netgalley. 

The fourth and final book in Karen Rose's nail-biting Cincinnati Series revisits your favourite characters battling crime in the city's dark underbelly. 

Homicide detective Adam Kimble is no stranger to battling demons. But Meredith Fallon is a different kind of weakness: one that could actually be good for him, if only he would let himself depend on her. Meredith has loved Adam for a year, and seeing how hard he's worked to deal with his PTSD makes her feelings only stronger, but she respects his needs. Her work keeps her busy anyway: she counsels sexually abused women like Mallory Martin to help them reintegrate into the world. 

But someone doesn't want Meredith helping women like Mallory, and Meredith finds herself in the crosshairs of a very determined killer. Adam would risk anything for her, but they'll soon find out she isn't the only target...

My Review:
4 Stars

First I need to say that I never realized this was the fourth book in a series. I started to get a feeling I was missing some stuff, but it really didn't hinder the reading of this story. Past events are mentioned, but not in a way that makes it necessary to read the previous books. I will be going back to read from the beginning because I love this author. 

OK so Edge of Darkness...

Meredith has a huge heart. She takes care of others and disregards the needs of herself. Always putting everyone else first. She really doesn't deter from this throughout the story. No matter the stress or danger, Meredith is constantly trying to save others without thinking though what it could mean for her. 

Adam has been through hell. Instead of finding comfort in those who love him, he pushes them away. Thinking that after he is better he will be able to make amends for his current actions. What he doesn't realize is that everyone doesn't understand why he's changed. They can't understand where the person they used to love is gone. Instead of helping his friends and family he is breaking them, especially the one he loves the most. 

Edge of Darkness is a fast paced thrilling read. Adam and Meredith are tested, as well as, the bonds that they have with everyone around them. It's those bonds that could hold the weakest point through their whole ordeal. 

A thrilling close to the series that I started with the last book. Looking forward to going back and getting to know the other characters. 


A gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.
The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.
Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.
But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park - and returned home without her.
As their obsession with their new neighbor grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they'll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.
My Review:
4 Stars
This was a really intriguing book. It is a great glimpse into the suburban woman's life. You never know what's going on behind closed doors. 
Ange, Fran and Essie each carry a secret. They vary in degrees of severity, but are there none the less. When a new woman arrives in their quiet suburb everyone is intrigued. All are wanting to figure out what she is about and what secrets she may hold. 
An engaging and compelling read. The story shows that looks can be quite deceiving and that not everyone is always who they say they are. Twists and turns will have you going down one path and then racing back for towards a different one. 
Ten years ago, four people were brutally murdered. One girl lived. 
No one believes her story. 
The police think she’s crazy. 
Her therapist thinks she’s suicidal. 
Everyone else thinks she’s a dangerous drunk. 
They’re all right—but did she see the killer? 

As the anniversary of the murders approaches, Faith Winters is released from the psychiatric hospital and yanked back to the last spot on earth she wants to be—her hometown where the slayings took place. Wracked by the lingering echoes of survivor’s guilt, Faith spirals into a black hole of alcoholism and wanton self-destruction. Finding no solace at the bottom of a bottle, Faith decides to track down her sister’s killer—and then discovers that she’s the one being hunted. 

How can one woman uncover the truth when everyone’s a suspect—including herself?
My Review:
5 Stars!!!!!!
This book was absolutely amazing. I cannot wait to check out other books by this author. This was my first experience with his work and it will not be my last. 
Faith has been through hell. She's lost most of her family and her best friend. She witnessed events that no litter girl should ever witness. Even after everything that she had endured nobody believes her. 
When Faith is released all eyes are on her. Waiting to see if she will mess up again. Waiting to see if she really is as crazy as they say. What they don't count on is her determination to find the truth. To prove to everyone that she isn't crazy and to brMying justice to the loved ones that she lost. 
The Girl Who Lived is an intense story about family, deception and the will to set things right. You will be guessing right up until the end. Like Faith, you won't know who to trust until its too late. 
Vermont, 1950. There's a place for the girls whom no one wants--the troublemakers, the illegitimate, the too smart for their own good. It's called Idlewild Hall. And in the small town where it's located, there are rumors that the boarding school is haunted. Four roommates bond over their whispered fears, their budding friendship blossoming--until one of them mysteriously disappears. . . . 

Vermont, 2014. As much as she's tried, journalist Fiona Sheridan cannot stop revisiting the events surrounding her older sister's death. Twenty years ago, her body was found lying in the overgrown fields near the ruins of Idlewild Hall. And though her sister's boyfriend was tried and convicted of murder, Fiona can't shake the suspicion that something was never right about the case.

When Fiona discovers that Idlewild Hall is being restored by an anonymous benefactor, she decides to write a story about it. But a shocking discovery during the renovations will link the loss of her sister to secrets that were meant to stay hidden in the past--and a voice that won't be silenced. . . .

My Review:
4 Stars

I love books that are based in Vermont. It's nice to be able to envision where the scene is actually taking place because you've been there before. 

Fiona has never gotten over her sister's death. The event that forever changed the dynamics of her family. The one item that keeps plaguing her is Idlewild Hall, where her sister's body was found. 

Once she hears that the place is being restored, Fiona starts investigating in earnest. Not only trying to piece together what happened the night of her sister's death, but also the mysteries that seem to be popping up since the restoration started. 

An engaging story that goes between present and past. Showing the life of the girls that lived in Idlewild Hall and what one sister will do to get to the truth concerning the one she loves. 


No comments:

Post a Comment