Pages

Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Review of Who Did You Tell? by Lesley Kara

 I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

A recovering alcoholic's dark secrets catch up with her in this gripping novel of psychological suspense from the internationally bestselling author of The Rumor.

"Instantly immersive, then intriguing, then insanely suspenseful, then . . . the truth. Believe me, Lesley Kara knows what she's doing."--Lee Child

We said to keep it a secret, that no one needed to know.

Astrid is newly sober and trying to turn her life around. Having reluctantly moved back in with her mother, in a quiet seaside town away from the temptations and darkness of her previous life, she is focusing on her recovery. She's going to meetings. Confessing her misdeeds. Making amends to those she's wronged. If she fills her days, maybe she can outrun the ghosts that haunt her. Maybe she can start anew.

But someone is tormenting me now. Someone knows where I am and what I've done.

Someone knows exactly what Astrid is running from. And they won't stop until she learns that some mistakes can't be corrected. Some mistakes, you have to pay for . . .

The question is: Who did you tell?

My Review:

4 Stars

Astrid like many has demons. Demons that she would rather leave behind on her journey to create a new life. Having to move back in with her mother isn't easy, but neither was the path she was walking. Everything seems to be going fine until the past rears its ugly head. 

Now Astrid has to delve into the days she would rather forget. To see who could possibly be trying to remind her of times better left forgotten. This isn't going to go away though. While Astrid would love nothing more than to forget, the person causing this turmoil wants her to pay. 

Twisting, turning and enlightening Who Did You Tell? is the perfect story to make you question the demons in your past. 

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Review of Playing Nice by JP Delaney

 I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

What if you found out that your family isn't yours at all? How far would you go to protect them? A gripping new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before. . . .

Pete Riley answers the door one morning and lets in a parent's worst nightmare. On his doorstep is Miles Lambert, a stranger who breaks the devastating news that Pete's son, Theo, isn't actually his son--he is the Lamberts', switched at birth by an understaffed hospital while their real son was sent home with Miles and his wife, Lucy. For Pete, his partner Maddie, and the little boy they've been raising for the past two years, life will never be the same again.

The two families, reeling from the shock, take comfort in shared good intentions, eagerly entwining their very different lives in the hope of becoming one unconventional modern family. But a plan to sue the hospital triggers an official investigation that unearths some disturbing questions about the night their children were switched. How much can they trust the other parents--or even each other? What secrets are hidden behind the Lamberts' glossy front door? Stretched to the breaking point, Pete and Maddie discover they will each stop at nothing to keep their family safe.

They are done playing nice.

My Review:

5 Stars

You hear about babies being switched at birth every now and then. Parents swear that don't know how they could have gone with this unnoticed for so long. They swear that they would know their child anywhere. It happens though. The wrong baby being sent home with the wrong parents. Those parents raising the child without a hint of knowing the truth. That is until you open your front door one morning and it slaps you in the face. That's exactly what happens to poor Pete. 

After opening that Pandora's box what follows is quite maddening. Everything is being turned around to make Maddie and Pete look unfit to parent either child in question. Secrets that shouldn't matter are being unearthed and used against each party. And most of all the children could be in danger and not even know it. 

A slippery slope between what's right and what needs to be done. 


Monday, September 28, 2020

Review of The Swap by Robyn Harding

 I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

The USA TODAY bestselling author of The Party delivers a riveting tale about the toxic relationship between two couples after a night of sexual shenanigans, and the manipulative teenager with an explosive secret at the center of it all.

Low Morrison is not your average teen. You could blame her hippie parents or her looming height or her dreary, isolated hometown on an island in the Pacific Northwest. But whatever the reason, Low just doesn’t fit in—and neither does Freya, an ethereal beauty and once-famous social media influencer who now owns the local pottery studio.

After signing up for a class, Low quickly falls under Freya’s spell. And Freya, buoyed by Low’s adoration, is compelled to share her darkest secrets and deepest desires. Finally, both feel a sense of belonging...that is, until Jamie walks through the studio door. Desperate for a baby, she and her husband have moved to the island hoping that the healthy environment will result in a pregnancy. Freya and Jamie become fast friends, as do their husbands, leaving Low alone once again.

Then one night, after a boozy dinner party, Freya suggests swapping partners. It should have been a harmless fling between consenting adults, one night of debauchery that they would put behind them, but instead, it upends their lives. And provides Low the perfect opportunity to unleash her growing resentment.

Robyn Harding brings her acclaimed storytelling, lauded as “fast-paced, thrilling, gut-wrenching” by Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six, to this dark and suspenseful thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Lisa Jewell.

My Review:

3 Stars

This was a pretty interesting story. You have one woman and one young girl both obsessing over the same couple. The young girl slowly falls under Freya's spell. Not realizing that the manipulator is slowly being manipulated. 

Then the night of the dinner party rolls around. Freya and her husband are the freer spirits of the two couples. Suggesting her and her new friend switch husbands is like a walk in the park for Freya. She however doesn't plan for someone watching the goings on of that evening. Someone who will willingly hold it over anyone's head to get what she wants. 

A twisting and manipulative story about friendship and obsession.