Pages

Crazy Fans

Sunday, December 4, 2016

Review of Beautiful Maids All in a Row by Jennifer Harlow

I received a copy of this title from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I did not and will not accept monetary compensation for reviews. These are my honest thoughts and opinions.


In this white-knuckle thriller for fans of Lisa Gardner and Karin Slaughter, a brilliant, troubled forensic psychologist finds herself matching wits with a frighteningly talented sociopath.

Dr. Iris Ballard's glory days are behind her, so when Luke Hudson, her former FBI partner and onetime lover, asks for help constructing a psychological profile of an elusive serial killer who murders single mothers and dumps their bodies in the woods, Iris turns him away. She just wants to be left alone with her infomercials, her German Shepherd, and her vodka. That is, until she gets a peek at the case files.

The media has dubbed him “the Woodsman.” But after Iris learns the sickening details held back from the press, and as she sets foot onto the scene of his latest crime, she assembles a portrait of a more complicated, enigmatic, meticulous man. Control is his motivation. He thrives on it. Soon he even tries to manipulate the investigation by contacting Iris, hoping to rattle the woman he considers an intellectual equal.

The game is on. Iris thinks she has a read on her target, enough to push his buttons, to make him lose control. But when the Woodsman gains the upper hand, Iris faces the most painful reckoning of all—with her own violent past.

My Review:
5 Stars

I am always up for a psychological thriller. That is definitely my number one favorite genre to read. Seeing that this book is recommended for fans of Lisa Gardner and Karin Slaughter also piqued my interest, as those are two of my favorite authors, since I was in high school.

The story line follows a washed up FBI agent named Iris. Sure Iris has seen better days, but her detective skills are unmatched. She has a sick when it comes to the hunt. She's able to see what other can't, making her a valued asset when she's one, a huge liability when she's not.

This time around the stakes are higher. The killer is now taunting them, but when Iris finally puts all the pieces together, the picture that they paint make it hard to believe that she isn't off her game.

A twisting and turning story that has the main character trying to outwit the bad guy and prove herself to the good guys all at the same time. All the while racing the clock so that no more women are killed and no more children lose their mothers.

I really enjoyed reading this title. The character development was perfect for the subject matter that was being dealt with. I can't wait to see what happens to Iris in the future.

No comments:

Post a Comment